Dig Those Groovy Tunes!

the only sound that's left after the ambulances go

Just about done with those Christmas leftovers? Here’s some more… December 31, 2009

Hey, everyone!  I realize I haven’t posted in a while.  I was insanely busy working on finals, and then had limited internet access due to having to share computer time (and space) with family members.  But now that a certain relative is no longer sleeping in the only room in the house that gets internet access, and now that I have my own laptop hooked up to an ethernet cable, I’m back on the blog!  Anyway, since I have this big heapin’ helping of Christmas-themed videos that I found on YouTube and wanted to share with you readers, and because one day of Christmas a year just ain’t enough for me, I’m gonna go ahead and post the links on here, even if it’s a week late.

First of all, since I may have made a passing reference to this video during my inaugural “Video of the Week” post…

And now that I’ve got you in the garage rockin’ Christmas spirit, here are The Ramones:

Now for an oldie-but-goodie from the late and great Eartha Kitt…

Don’t think I’ve forgotten you, either, fellow children of the nineties (by the way, whether you grew up in the nineties or not, if you haven’t seen this film yet, you are deeply deprived.  Even if it did scare the bejeezus out of me when I was in preschool)…

Here’s a video from Bob Dylan’s new Christmas album (an aesthetic upon which my kindred spirit rock buddy Adam and I will, sadly, never agree.  Sure, what little voice he ever had is totally gone now.  That’s not gonna keep me from dancing around like an idiot to this song):

And what would Christmas be without a rockin’ obscure song by everyone’s favorite candy-cane-colored band?

And now, how ’bout some Christmas specials?!  Here’s some fine mid-1970s yuletide madness brought to you by Eric Idle and THE GREATEST MUSICIAN IN THE HISTORY OF ROCK MUSIC, PERIOD, END OF STORY (in my humble opinion, of course), Mr. George Harrison:

And this has been a favorite of mine for a couple of years, The Monkees Christmas special, featuring that kid from The Munsters (who literally has nothing better to do with his time these days than to appear — for reasons I can’t even begin to comprehend — signing books at a little table in the merch room at Beatlefest.  I’ve seen him there for the past two years.  My roommate and I even had the chance to ask him what it was like to work with The Monkees.  He was rather nice, for a faded child star):

Part 1:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jSFwcVYIkE

Part 2:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0mH48_NXUJU

Part 3:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1gT9gLx1VM

And for those of you who are as hooked on British comedy and/or parodies of cheesy movies as I am, here’s AD/BC:  A Rock Opera, a 30-minute special which I discovered over the summer during the height of my Mighty Boosh binge (the special features several actors who have appeared on The Mighty Boosh.  And The IT Crowd.  And Garth Marenghi’s Darkplace.  And I mean, the same four actors who’ve been in all these shows are in AD/BC).  It’s a parody of all those Christian rock musicals/operas that came out in the mid-to-late-1970s, and it’s the story of the nativity told from the point of view of the innkeeper.  My favorite part is Tony Iscariot’s (apparently the father of Judas) epic song at the end of Part 1:

Part 1:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8nu-KK6FfjA

Part 2:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q37UomRayr0

Part 3:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p7DWq6GfP0Y

And now, don’t think I’ve forgotten you Jews out there (I’m 1/2 Jewish myself.  And yes, I’m fully aware that Hanukkah was at the beginning of December this year).  I’ll let Mr. Sandler take it from here:

And last but not least, the sons of December birthday boy Frank Zappa (whom my roommate and I have decided is God and have declared December 21st Zappamas in honor of The Great One), singing a modern Christmas favorite:

Now may all your days be mellow, and may all your Zappamases be yellow.

Oh, and Happy Holidays to all, regardless of your faith/culture/celebrity obsession.

 

Leave a Reply

