Dig Those Groovy Tunes!

the only sound that's left after the ambulances go

Music Video on Disney Channel Rips Off White Stripes; Commits Various Other Atrocities January 5, 2010

Earlier this week, I was up late with insomnia and turned on the TV.  I settled on the Disney Channel, being that it has some really good animated series on really late at night (pretty much the only thing of any worth to me on the Disney Channel anymore).  So anyway, in between the animated series of The Little Mermaid (hey, shut up.  It was a good animated series, mmmkay?) and Lilo and Stitch (don’t judge me!), this music video by Disney’s latest commercial minion — I mean, superstar — Selena Gomez, comes on.  The first thing I notice about the video is that gee, for a music video meant to target audiences between the ages of 8 and 14, Selena’s outfit/moves/lyrics sure are a bit mature (I mean, come on?  Does a role model for prepubescent girls really need to sport a spaghetti-strapped minidress, tons of makeup, and a designer hairdo and sing about romantic relationships in order to reach her fans?  I’m sorry if I sound like a nit-picky old lady here, but really)…and then about halfway through the video, it occurs to me that the stuff going on in the background looks awfully familiar…I mean, what with the endless red, white, and black triangles perpetually moving towards the screen.  At this point, I think to myself, “Man, I liked this video so much better when it was called ‘Seven Nation Army’…”  Now, I’m not saying that Miss Gomez nor Boss Disney are intentionally ripping off the video for one of the previous decade’s defining songs or anything, but there is  a more-than-passing resemblance between the two videos, dotcha think?

 

Leave a Reply

