Dig Those Groovy Tunes!

the only sound that's left after the ambulances go

Video of the Week: “St. Valentine’s Day Massacre” by Cocktail Slippers February 14, 2010

I’m not, by any stretch of the imagination, a fan of Valentine’s Day.  The candy’s pretty good, but I was never comfortable with the sappiness of the holiday or the idea that expensive jewelry is supposed to be a symbol of one’s love (when in actuality it’s just a boast of one’s status.  “Look, Lovey, I bought you some shiney rocks!  Don’t you love how rich I am?!”).  But enough of my radical views.  A couple weeks ago, I discovered something Valentine’s Day related that doesn’t totally suck:  “St. Valentine’s Day Massacre” by Cocktail Slippers, a pop-rock quintet from Norway.  The song is pretty awesome on its own, but the video, which features the five girls dressed as 1920s gangsters (no doubt a reference to the song’s title — otherwise, the song has seemingly no connection to the 1929 incident that may have been the basis for “The Night Chicago Died”) is just as awesome.  And whether you celebrate St. Valentine’s Day or not, I hope you enjoy this video for what it is:  a rockin’ video for a rockin’ song.

P.S.  I will try to post more often from now on, but since school comes first, I can’t promise anything.

P.P.S.  I love you.  You you you…

 

2 Responses to “Video of the Week: “St. Valentine’s Day Massacre” by Cocktail Slippers”

  1. rockmommy Says:

    Cool Video!


Leave a Reply

